Skip to main content

Mill Valley Public Library, Lucretia Little History Room

The Lucretia Little History Room is dedicated to illuminating the unique and vibrant history of Mill Valley and making this history accessible to people of all ages and interests. We accomplish this by collecting, preserving, and promoting materials of enduring value pertaining to people, places, and events associated with Mill Valley and a few select nearby areas, such as Mount Tamalpais and Muir Woods, that are an essential part of Mill Valley’s historic heritage.

The History Room and the Mill Valley Historical Society have shared a close relationship since their respective foundings in 1977. Since its opening, the Lucretia Little History Room has operated under the jurisdiction of the Mill Valley Public Library and the City of Mill Valley, and its collection is owned by the Library. The Historical Society is a separate nonprofit organization which is not governed by the City. The Historical Society and the Library collaborate in many areas, including on exhibitions, the Mill Valley Oral History Program, and the First Wednesday lecture series. The Historical Society provides valued funding and membership resources to support the History Room’s projects, while the Library provides research support for the Historical Society’s programs and publications, from its annual History Walk to the Mill Valley Historical Review.

Contact Information:

Mill Valley Public Library
Lucretia Little History Room
375 Throckmorton Ave.
Mill Valley, CA 94941
Telephone: (415) 389-4292
Email: hist@cityofmillvalley.org

3
RESULTS
rss


PART OF
California Revealed
Cultural & Academic Films
Media Type
2
texts
1
images
Year
1
1909
2
(No Date)
Topics & Subjects
3
californialightandsound
3
californiarevealed
1
Commuters
1
Old Mill
1
Railroad depots
1
Railroads
More right-solid
Collection
Creator
3
weidner, chas.
7
t. c. wohlbruck co.
4
mitchell, edward h.
3
carothers, harrie w.
3
eduart and cobb
2
county recorder of marin
2
mccarthy, w. c.
More right-solid
Language
3
English
SHOW DETAILS
up-solid down-solid
eye
Title
Date Archived
Creator
Description : Colorized postcard of the Mill Valley Depot featuring passersby and train cars. Front of postcard is printed with the following text: "No. 423. Railroad station at Mill Valley, Marin County, California." Back of postcard is printed with the following: "Chas. Weidner, San Francisco, Calif. Made in Germany." Correspondence to a Mrs. Pearl Cook of San Francisco from a Mrs. Drew of San Rafael, California, on back. Postcard is stamped and postmarked 1909. Source : 1...
Topics: californiarevealed, californialightandsound, Commuters, Railroad depots, Railroads, The Depot
Mill Valley Public Library, Lucretia Little History Room
by Weidner, Chas.
image
eye 22
favorite 0
comment 0
Description : Mill Valley's Old Mill was built by John Reed circa 1835. Reed's sawmill has long been Mill Valley's most significant man-made landmark. Front of postcard is printed with the following text: "No. 421. Old Mill at Mill Valley, California." Back of postcard is printed with the following: "Chas. Weidner, San Francisco, Calif. Made in Germany." Source : 1 Page of 1: Postcard (5.5 x 3.5 in.) Call Number : 2016.094.005 Digitized by California Revealed .
Topics: californiarevealed, californialightandsound, Old Mill, Sawmills, Structures
Description : A group of redwood trees in Mill Valley, California. Title partially transcribed from front of postcard, which reads: "No. 422, A group of Redwoods, growing out from root of an immense Redwood, Mill Valley, Marin County, California". Back of postcard is printed with the following: "Chas. Weidner, San Francisco, Calif. Made in Germany." Correspondence to a Miss Grace Sterrett on back. Postcard is stamped and postmarked 1909. Source : 1 Page of 1: Postcard (5.5 x...
Topics: californiarevealed, californialightandsound, Redwood trees, Trees, Woods